A Tee-riffic Weekend

Happy Monday! This weekend is always one of my favorite of the year when my town hosts a PGA Tour event, The Wyndham Championship, and a ton of professional golfers come to town. It is so much fun to watch them up close and personal! But I should probably start at the beginning of the weekend.

On Friday I raced home from work, packed a great picnic dinner and we headed out to a new park that opened a few weeks ago for an outdoor movie night with some friends. We went to see Inside Out, which we had all already seen but it is just as good again. I packed chicken salad, cheese, pepperoni and crackers, fruit salad, veggies and hummus and chips and salsa. We feasted and watched the movie and had a great time. It did start raining a little toward the end of the movie but we just toughed it out since it was almost over. It was such a fun night and I am so glad they opened this new park. The programming they have planned is great.

IMG_6072

The picture in the top right is this amazing art installation that did at the new park that hangs above your head and lights up at night. It is stunning and that photo definitely doesn’t do it justice.

Will had to work on Saturday but I had two tickets to the Wyndham from work. I invited a friend of mine who I don’t get to see as often as I used to when we had offices next door to each other. Even though he is a huge sports fan he had never been to a professional golf event. I loved getting to show him around a great course and follow some of our favorite golfers.

IMG_6076
Jay (left) and I had a great day catching up and ran in to Josh (right) who we also used to work with.

 

This was a really fun year because Rickie Fowler, Jim Furyk, Bill Haas, Webb Simpson, Luke Donald, Patrick Reed and a bunch more really famous guys were playing. This event is always toward the end of the golf season so some of the more famous guys take the weekend off to rest up. It is always fun to see who is actually coming. Last year Tiger Woods played in it, which caused just enough of a rush to buy tickets that we decided to stay home. We had seen Tiger in his prime and decided that it wasn’t worth the madness to see bad Tiger.

On Sunday Will and I went out to the Wyndham for the fourth time in our five years together. Like I said, we skipped last year, but it is so great that we have this tradition. We met up with some friends early in the day and then spent the afternoon with Will’s Dad. As a wine/beer provider for the tournament he always has suite access with free food and drinks so we hung out there in the afternoon and watched the leaders play through.

IMG_6084

 

IMG_6103

Naturally we were zapped from two days of walking around in the hot, hot heat so Sunday night was pretty low key. We ordered pizza, watched the closing ceremony of the Olympics and I fell asleep on the couch before 10!

This was really my last weekend with Will before his job kicks in to high gear for the school year (that will get its own post this week) so we tried to make the most of it for sure.

Is anyone else a golf lover like me?

Linked at B Loved Boston, The Sirois Family, Hello Monday, Let it Shine, MIMM, Weekend Snapshot

8 thoughts on “A Tee-riffic Weekend

  1. Sounds like you had a full weekend! That’s really neat the PGA comes to your town – it would definitely be neat to watch. The local park near me has movies, but I never remember when they are. Your post has me looking up the schedule – sounds like fun!

    Like

  2. picturealmostperfect

    The PGA comes to our neck of the woods too, but I’ve never been. You make it sound like I should!! Glad you had a great weekend! Happy Monday!

    Like

  3. Looks like an eventful weekend! We have a park where they show outdoor movies as well, but we have not been! It is definitely something I would love to do one night.

    Like

  4. Ashley

    That’s so exciting that your town hosts a PGA tournament every year! Houston has the Shell Houston Open, and I still haven’t made it out there to see it and I’ve lived here my whole life. I think that needs to change because it sounds like a lot of fun! And the movie night in the park sounds like a total blast, even though y’all got a little wet. The picnic you brought sounds pretty amazing too! I hope you had a fantastic Monday!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Blogtember: Goals – Beneath The Fireworks

Leave a comment