About

I am Erika, born and raised in New York, went to college in Boston (Go Northeastern!) and have called North Carolina home for seven years. I love living in NC and can’t imagine being anywhere else.

IMG_6164

I am a newlywed, having gotten married in May to this amazing man who is a born and bred southerner. So not what I expected. But with him life has been a full-on adventure that I wouldn’t trade for anything.

Capture

I have the best girlfriends in the world. They are the most eclectic and different group of women with such varied backgrounds, interests and perspectives. I couldn’t imagine my life without a single one of them. But some of my closest friends are guys. Because I worked in sports for 10 years. Thank goodness my husband is the most secure, least jealous guy ever.

I spent the last 10 years climbing my way up in the business of college athletics communications. My dream job. Except when I got near the top it wasn’t at all what I expected and I was miserable. So I quit and now work in PR for a major insurance company. Not my dream job but happier than I was. My career is a bit of a work in progress.

IMG_6170

I am a huge sports fan. I love all things football especially the Carolina Panthers and Wake Forest Demon Deacons. I also love baseball and the Atlanta Braves.

IMG_4269

IMG_6163

I can’t live without coffee, wine, sunshine, good books and bad tv. I love to cook but believe the best recipes are simple and easy. I have never been a great baker but I am trying. I could eat Mexican food every day and life is too short to skip dessert.

My favorite place in the world is on the beach. I don’t care what beach but give me salt and sand anywhere and I can be happy.

I read all the time. I always have a book, or my ipad, in my bag. Like Rory Gilmore. I’ve read all the classics, and I love them, but I also love settling in with a David Baldacci thriller or Nicholas Sparks love story.

I have been wanting to blog for years but that crazy 70-hour a week career in college athletics kept it from happening. So when I stepped back and found a more normal career I jumped right in. I am new to it but I am loving the community so much.

Ok, so there are the basics. Anything else you all want to know?