Five on Friday | August 19, 2016

Happy Friday! I am so happy Friday is here and I have a great weekend ahead! 

ONE

My name is FINALLY changed everywhere! At work, with my bank, all my social media accounts (I think)! Which is great but now I just have to remember to use my new last name. Yesterday at work I initialed edits in three different documents EC instead of EP. This name change thing is hard. I had 30 years of practice with the old one.

TWO

Wedding Wednesday is quickly becoming my favorite day of the week around this blog. I was so bummed I didn’t start blogging in time to document the dating/engagement/wedding planning so going back to tell those stories is so much fun. This week was the proposal. And it is a good one so go check it out.

IMG_6050

 

THREE

We are co-hosting a wedding shower for one of Will’s best friends. He was a groomsman in our wedding and we adore his fiancé. I was put in charge of the invitations after everyone loved the invites I designed for our wedding. But I simply didn’t have the time and before I knew it I needed to send them out. Thank you etsy! I found this awesome invitation and Ana worked with me to make it perfect! We got them printed and addressed last night and off they went in the mail today. Sometimes you have to know when to ask for help. I blacked out some details for privacy

INVITE ( with cropmarks)

 

FOUR

I am struggling to find a dress for a wedding we are attending in NYC in September. This wedding is outdoors in Battery Park which will be absolutely beautiful. All our weddings lately have been in the south in the summer so all my dresses are pink or floral. I don’t feel like they are NYC-chic at all. But September in NYC can still be super hot. Feel free to send suggestions my way!

FIVE

While I am over here asking for advice I have decided I want a camera for my birthday/Christmas. I always had access to a really nice DSLR and lenses through my old job but at my new job we don’t have anything like that. So now I want one of my very own but I don’t really know where to start. Any photo bloggers out there with knowledge? Or posts with guidance? Please share!

 

Linked at  A. Liz Adventures, Oh Hey Friday, High Five for Friday, A Little Bit of Everything,

6 thoughts on “Five on Friday | August 19, 2016

  1. When I finally got around to changing my name it took me so long to get used to it too! I sign all the checks for our company so it took me a few days to remember to use my married name!

    Like

  2. Ashley

    That invitation that you got for your friends’ shower is so cute! Etsy seriously has all the best stuff! Maybe you should look into a dress from Rent The Runway. It’s a cheaper option than a new dress, and they’ll be designer too which is always perfect for NYC! A couple of years ago I bought a used DSLR from a friend, and absolutely loved it! I eventually had to upgrade because it couldn’t take a memory card bigger than a 556MB (way too tiny!), and I ended up getting the Nikon D3200 which is a beginner’s I think. The only negative about a DSLR is that it’s so bulky to travel with, so we just bought a mirrorless camera to travel with. The camera guys told us that the Olympus and Sony were the best, and we ended up going with the Olympus. Basically the mirrorless cameras have the ability to add lenses onto the camera so you have a lot of control over your pictures, but it’s a lot smaller than a full blown DSLR. Just something to think about!

    Like

  3. I remember when I changed my name how weird it was signing it for like the next year haha. I like the invites you guys did for that shower! I am just starting to dabble with my husbands fancy camera so I don’t really have any advice to give you on that. All of my photos on my blog are from my iPhone, obviously.

    Like

  4. catalyn924

    Ah so many things that I love in this post – the engagement photo, those invites! Have you ever checked out Rent the Runway! I’ve never done it before.. but I know so many people who have!

    Like

  5. If you are looking for a “simpler” DSLR I would so go with the Canon Rebel (although it sounds like you know your way around a camera, so maybe you may want a step up). I’ve had mine for a while and still love it. For the price I think t’s a great camera. I also have a fixed lens, which is what I use 90% of the time. Good luck with finding something you like! Stopping over from H54F.
    PS: I have a few posts on my blog about using a DSLR (but once again, it sounds like you already know how to use it)

    Like

Leave a Reply

