Five on Friday | August 12, 2016

I can’t even begin to tell you how happy I am to see Friday. This week has been brutal and that’s why there has been radio silence for the last few days. I have had severe migraines. The kind that force me to lay in the dark with no noise for the entire day Tuesday. Unfortunately the lack of moving for almost two days tightened up an old injury I had in my neck and now I can’t move my neck at all. Needless to say time in front of the computer has been at a minimum. Now if only I could get all the way back to normal. The last few weeks have been awful between my anemia and now this and before that I had been great for months. Here is hoping a weekend of rest will get me back to normal.

ONE
I don’t know about anyone else but I can’t get enough of the Olympics. I am sad the swimming is almost over because it is so exciting and we win so much! My personal favorite is the beach volleyball though. I’ve been staying up way too late listening to those matches with my back to the tv so the light doesn’t hurt my head. Also the field hockey team is on a roll and I know two of the girls on the team so I am all in for field hockey! And it goes without saying that Michael Phelps is not human.

 

TWO

When I can’t cook and my husband is in charge of dinner there is a ton of chic-fil-a and frozen pizza. Delicious but not exactly homemade. Last night I finally felt human enough to make dinner and tried this recipe from Gimme Some Oven for chicken and broccoli mac-n-cheese. So easy and delicious! I have never made my own cheese sauce like that before and it couldn’t have been simpler. Plus there is broccoli in there so it is totally healthy right?

IMG_6019

 

THREE

Currently our kitchen has an ugly black high-top table in there from Will’s bachelor pad days. It is way too big for the space and really unattractive. Also it is black which sticks out in my otherwise all white kitchen. I have been searching and searching for a little kitchen cart to replace it and this week Wayfair had a great sale and Will’s mom saw this one. We ordered it right away and I can’t wait for it to get here and to send that black table to a new home!

Hamdan-Kitchen-Cart-THRE2727

 

FOUR

Assuming I don’t end up locked in the dark again tomorrow we are going to see Jim Gaffigan! Right now you would recognize him from car commercials but he is an incredible stand-up comedian and one of my all-time favorites. Google Jim Gaffigan, hot pockets and thank me later. The funniest!

jim-gaffigan

 

FIVE

This week we finally got the green light from Will’s job for a weekend off in September to go to a wedding in NYC! I am so excited. I haven’t been to NYC since I moved to North Carolina seven years ago! Which is crazy since I spent the first 19 years of my life going to the city all the time. Plus this wedding is in Battery Park and will be stunning. I can’t wait!

 

Linked at  A. Liz Adventures, Oh Hey Friday, High Five for Friday, A Little Bit of Everything,

 

 

5 thoughts on “Five on Friday | August 12, 2016

  1. Ashley

    I’m sorry that you’ve been feeling so terrible lately, but hopefully that’s all passed and you can enjoy Jim Gaffigan! That’s also great news that y’all can head to NYC for that wedding. Its location in Battery Park sounds awesome!

    Like

  2. ,,, chick fil a. yum. that chicken and broc thing looks amazing. when my husband cooks it is basically the same thing every time: beef, beans and rice. which i’m sick of after several years haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

