Lets Make Pizza Pasta Salad

I love a good pasta salad. But I find that many store bought or restaurant prepared ones have way too much dressing/mayo/oil for my taste. I prefer mine a little less wet. So I always opt to make big batches of different pasta salads at home and then eat it with everything for a week.

The other issue with pasta salads is that between my husband and his father there are some serious limitations in what vegetables I can use. When we went to the beach a few weekends ago I was in charge of dinner one night, a special birthday dinner for my father-in-law. I planned pork chops with this delicious Cheerwine BBQ sauce, asparagus and yummy pizza pasta salad. I edited a few recipes together to make one I hoped the guys would like. And the LOVED it. I expected to bring home lots of leftovers but didn’t. They ate it with every meal all weekend. So if you have some picky eaters give this a try!

DInner

Ingredients

1 lb pasta, any shape

1 medium cucumber, peeled and chopped

1 container cherry tomatoes, sliced in half

1 small can sliced black olives

1 block mozzarella cheese, cut in to small cubes

6 oz pepperoni, chopped

1/4-1/2 bottle of McCormick Salad Supreme Seasoning

1/2 bottle Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing

Directions

Cook pasta in salted water. Drain and rinse to cool pasta down.

DInner2

Combine cucumber, tomatoes, olives, pepperoni, season and salad dressing in a bowl and chill while pasta is cooking. Once pasta has cooled add to bowl and toss to combine. Adjust seasoning and dressing to personal taste. Add cheese before serving.

DInner3

I made the pasta salad on Thursday night before we left for the beach and we didn’t eat until Saturday for dinner. I added the cheese in right before we ate on Saturday so it didn’t get soggy. But it was still delicious for leftovers on Sunday and Monday.

DInner4

I had to resist the urge to add bell peppers because the guys would have picked them all out but if your family likes them I think they would taste great and add some pretty color.

This was such a success that it has already been requested again! Enjoy!

 

Linked at The Wednesday Showcase, Tasty Tuesdays, Wonderful Wednesday, What’s Cookin’ Wednesday,

 

4 thoughts on “Lets Make Pizza Pasta Salad

  1. This looks super tasty! I can’t stomach the pasta salads that are slathered in mayo either, so this looks right up my alley. I bet you could try this with all sorts of different pizza varieties as inspiration!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Five on Friday | July 15, 2016 – Beneath The Fireworks

  3. Pingback: Savory Salads Perfect for Potlucks + Tasty Tuesday #Linky

Leave a Reply

